O2 Mobile Broadband Reviews

  • unhappy

    by Maurice Halton at 13:27 on 4 Jan 2013

    The speed of O2 internet broadband is extremely poor. It is always very slow, and it often returns an error message such as 'can't find Google server' etc. Sites with pictures take an age to load. In my opinion, O2 is just like T-Mobile in that, once they have your money, they lose all interest. Nether company ever delivers the broadband speeds they advertise, which is why they are s very reluctant to tell people what speeds they 'offer'.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by daniel martin at 18:37 on 6 Aug 2012

    ABSOLUTELY AWFUL. o2 mobile broadband block a ridiculous amount of ports including STEAM. It also has an age verification block on it, which requires a credit card(not debit card) to verify, failing that you can "pop" (assuming you live close to one of their shops and don't work) into their shop with ID to confirm your age. The age block is quite badly made and obviously uses a 3rd party company that operate from a shed. It blocks random technical forums, some gaming webpages along with google translate. You'd be better off buying a Nokia 3210 and plugging it into your pc and uses its GPRS connection to browse the web rather than o2 broadband

    Report abuse
  • happy

    by robert at 09:54 on 31 Jul 2012

    This product is not perfect, but for me it was an absolute life saver. I am self employed and lost BT internet and phone connections for 5 weeks, due to underground cable faults. The 02 mobile broadband was usually, very reliable. I would recommend it as an emergency backup. Also, it has UK, based call centres, which is a massive boost and it never took long to get any help need from the friendly 02 team, unlike BT who are an absolute disgrace.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Graeme at 23:36 on 8 Jul 2012

    Don't buy an o2 dongle, when it works its good when it doesn't it is a complete nightmare. This weekend I've struggled to get any more than 5 minutes use from it at any time and it just drops out. I had an Orange one before just slightly better. Have had to reboot my computer numerouse times this weekend to get it to work. One word for o2 and their dongles CRAP as for their phone only Simplicity deals you'll get a better deal from Tesco. Who supplies the Tesco network? o2 WTF

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by MrangryatO2 at 12:21 on 1 Jul 2012

    i have used an O2 dongle for 2 years. Year 1 : great, met all expectations. Year 2 : crap, download speeds of about 3 to 10 kbps.
    and £10 per month - RIP OFF. Never buy this. unless your luckier than 4000 leprechauns combined.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by gary at 20:42 on 16 Jun 2012

    why is the signal always very low ....

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Harvey at 23:03 on 1 May 2012

    absolute rubbish - waste of £20 - will not install on my laptop - guru help ablosutely useless

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by natasha at 18:47 on 28 Apr 2012

    The speed connection is very slow although i asked an 02 rep beforehand whether there was a good connection signal in my area. He replied 'very good'. Obviously not. I do not think it is good value for money and when data runs out you can top it back up again, but you have to re-start it every time and save any documents currently open. Which loses the web pages you were on. It also takes a long time to get initially connected and when you have deadlines to meet, the last thing you need is slow browsing and half an hour set-up time.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Rob at 22:32 on 26 Apr 2012

    Initially I was quite impressed with the O2 pay and go dongle I bought for a trip to London. Unfortunately after a few hours of use the 02 website claimed I had used all 4GB of my data allowance and stopped allowing me access to any websites. How I am supposed to have used that much in what amounts to no more than three or four hours surfing the web (no video, audio or downloading large files) beggars belief.

    I won't be topping this dongle up again and will use another provider next time.

    Report abuse
  • happy

    by Paul Stephens at 13:57 on 8 Jan 2012

    Before purchasing an O2 Mobile Broadband Dongle, I was horrified to see so many negative reviews. Despite this, and being an O2 customer, I purchased a Pay & Go dongle anyway and have been amazed. The installation was simple, registered and immediately had my double usage applied and now have speeds far better than 3 mobile. I had doubts at first as I checked my postcode using the text postcode check service on the dongle box and I was advised not to use the dongle... again, I did it anyway and as mentioned now have superior mobile Internet from O2 so would highly recommend the service to anyone.

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by theobean at 18:13 on 5 Jan 2012

    I bought the £10.20 O2 dongle and got the 1gb data plus the promised extra 1gb data when i registered, pin number sent to my mobile phone ,only used 500mb so far so heres hoping. So they must have listened and got their act together or got knuckles rapped. As for free WI-FI local BTOPENZONE home/hub and BTFON WI-FI hotspot didnt work think its only ones that they list that work. It could be a good stop gap.

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by laila at 15:22 on 1 Dec 2011

    I did register for the double data on my pay&go dongle and recieved the data. I have been happy with o2,,But i keep losing the signal and cant connect to bt wifi openzone. I think o2 is overpriced for what you get. I am going to change to 3 for a new laptop and 15gb data allowance.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Sparkone at 14:33 on 18 Nov 2011

    O2 Mobile Broadband > Pay as you go.
    Signal keeps dropping out, despite being located very close to one of their masts.
    O2 Service check says i should have very good coverage for my postcode.
    Memory is cleared regular and kept to a minimum.
    All Windows Updates taken care of regular.
    So tell me....
    Why does my internet suddenly drop connection every few minutes?
    This just isn't good enough. Especially for someone who relies on the internet for a living.
    My advice... Try Sky Broadband. I was trying to avoid committing to a monthly bill, but where the internet is concerned, it's worth doing. The difference is HUGE. O2 mobile broadband just is not in the same league (or anywhere close). Why then, does it cost so much more??
    Very unhappy, soon to be lost, customer.
    P1

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Alison johnston at 07:37 on 26 Sep 2011

    Hmm so much for getting double data for giving o2 your details! I too have done this using different mobile numbers thinking there was a problem with my phone and yep, you guessed it, not my phone thats at fault but o2, going to email them and see if i get any response! Not happy at all

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by IAIN GRANDPIERRE at 10:48 on 21 Sep 2011

    I have an O2 dongle . I applied for their double data package which I would get , so they say ,
    every 3 weeks . I filled in my details 16 times and waited for the return PIN .
    Guess what ....NOTHING !!!!
    It's a bloody SCAM >>>>>>>

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by antoinette at 20:10 on 23 Aug 2011 | registered | 1 post

    I have 02 dongle for 1990.euro a month which was fine until two bills ago bill went up to 64 euros then this month 155 euros. Am doing nothing different I do not download films of music. There was even charges for days out of country My dongle was not loaned to anyone and am only one in house. On ringing o2 they insisted their bill were 100% accurate and as much as called me a liar and must have loaned my dongle. Does this sound familiar to anyone or is there any way of proving dongle not used by user

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Clive Browning at 14:39 on 3 Aug 2011

    I have both 02 and vodaphone mobile broadband. Niether are better than the other although the o2 dongle has just packed in after less than 12 months. Unfortunatley Mobile broadband has not come of age and is in fact not yet fit for purpose. You wont beleive me!! and will buy anyway just as I did. I can therfore only urge you to start with a pay as you go. My experience has been awful. With either dongle even with an "excellent" signal sat under the mast in my motorhome the speed is insuficient to do internet banking and even emails are hit and miss. I now just find the nearest library or wi-fi hotspot.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Justin Holt at 20:19 on 20 Jul 2011

    I recently swapped from 3 mobile broadband to O2. I wish I hadn't they have no coverage in the 2 main places I need to use it and won't refund (I only checked after 30 days so they are within their rights).

    However, their customer service has been attrocious since, and I object to their claim to being "better connected". It simply isn't true.

    It's not a lot of money, but by dismissing me out of hand, they've guaranteed that I'll cancel my mobile contract when it is up for renewal

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by IT Engineer at 17:34 on 27 Jun 2011

    Stay away from the O2 dongle. It will save you years off your life...

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by lou at 10:10 on 9 Mar 2011

    I bought a pay as you go dongle in the O2 shop. I was told that if I am in a bt openzone wifi hotspot the connection will be free and I will not be charged through my data allowance. However after only 4 hours (streaming) the data allowance was used up even though I had connected to a bt openzone wifi hotspot. When I called O2 customer 'support' they told me that the free wifi allowance does not work on macs. Another example of goods being sold by misrepresenting the facts and/ or witholding crucial info. that limits free usage. Afterall its not as if macs are unpopular! Its the last time I buy from 02- they have turned into another carphone warehouse type of outfit with on the ball sales staff craftily selling you a con or at least being negligent about what you should know before you decide to buy or not. Im up for a class action but there are too many different types of complaints unfortunately...

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by andy at 14:04 on 19 Feb 2011

    just bought this piece of cr0p yesterday and im yet to get a signal...i took it back to the shop i bought it from, asking for a refund and the staff there fobbed me off saying that i had to go to the other o2 shop 6 miles away if i wanted a refund......so i got to this shop and what do ya know? they said the same thing...both shops where passing the buck...i demanded a refund there and then and was told i had to take it to the shop i bought it from....they give me a free data card as way of compensation but failed to credit it lol....frustration isnt the word for my mood atm...i see that after reading many reveiws on different websites that i am not alone with this problem of o2s shoddy products and terrible customer service.....i have been an o2 mobile customer from the beginning but after today i am changing providers.....people...do yourselves a favour...DO NOT BUY AN O2 DONGLE...YOU WILL HAVE PROBLEMS AND WILL GET NO HELP. BEWARE OF O2.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Dave at 21:55 on 13 Feb 2011

    I bought a 02 dongle last year in 2010 and like some of you have stated the data allowance was indeed 3gb. After some time they posted on the 02 home page limited time only and that it would be dropping to just 2gb. If I had any idea this was going to happen I would have never got it. Oh then they say its 2gb how come its infact 1.9gb we all need to tackle this as a whole.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Euan Tennant at 19:18 on 1 Feb 2011

    I was very happy to have solved my connectivity crisis by signing up to o2's £12.50/month 3 GB limit mobile broadband package in February of 2010. I was so pleased with my dongle that I leant it to a friend while I was away for a month. Upon my return, I discovered that he had exceeded the download limit by 4 GB.

    Of course I expected some kind of excess usage charge, in line with those levied on mobile phone contracts. To my shock and horror my bill for that month included an excess of £750.

    If I had been made aware that I was liable to charges of this great magnitude, I would never have loaned the device.

    I have tried many times to come to an understanding with o2 customer services, and every time I hear the same phrases - 'the bill is correct', and 'it is the customers responsibility to read the contract before signing'.

    I have pored though the fine print of the contract and the only reference to excess charging is an instruction to refer to the o2 website. I had to call customer services again to ask how to navigate this impenetrable labyrinth of pages and links to find the notification of excess charging, and it took myself and Steve, the customer service rep about 15 mins of trial and error to get there.

    This kind of stealth warning is not acceptable. (for anyone familiar with Dougls Adams' 'The hitch hikers guide to the galaxy' - "beware of the leopard")

    During this frustrating lesson in UK contract law that I did not need, I have been charged an extra £250 as a termination fee bringing my bill to the princely sum of £1007.91.

    Is this the mechanism by which Telefonica lines the pockets of its shareholders? I see from other posts that I am not alone in my experience.

    If anyone knows of a class action lawsuit directed at this injustice I would be glad to hear about it.

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by David at 18:25 on 17 Jan 2011

    The dongle seems to have a mind of its own. There are times I have a good signal, but when I try to connect it says it can't connect I and should check the coverage. Other times the signal is very low and it connects no problem.

    The dongle also knocks me off some connections in favor of other ones. I have tried sorting this, but I cant seem to fix it. I have to let it change me over so I can then disconnect and then reconnect. After I do that, it stops trying to change me over.

    It also auto connects to some connections even though all the profiles are set to connect manually. Again, I can't get that problem fixed.

    Over all I don't see it being any worse than the others I have tried (3 and T-Mobile) and in some cases it is better.

    As with all other dongles out there, you get ripped off for what you pay for. With o2, that is (2GB for £15.32 a month but I guess until there is an investigation to find out why dongles are vastly more expensive (in the case of o2 this is 8 times more than a land line)

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Debby at 18:59 on 5 Jan 2011

    Well if this is modern progressive technology 2011, than 02 can keep it! I have had this 02
    Dongle for about 9 months now and it was ok until the last two weeks, now I am lucky if I can ever connect, yet when I bought it the network coverage for my area (Trumpington) for 02 was supposedly massive and it was ok, so what the hell has happened in the last two weeks!! I use it for my computer, so am not moving about and as I said the 02 network coverage was supposed to be excellent, It has taken me 4 yes FOUR HOURS to get connected today, I shall be speaking with 02 to be sure!!

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Tony at 10:11 on 5 Jan 2011

    What O2 doesn't tell you is that there is a top up limit on pay as you go and I now find that the dongle is blocked for a whole month because I watched some old movies over the holidays. They told me to throw it away and buy another one. Strange company that bans rich people from spending money.

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by John at 00:41 on 3 Dec 2010

    I've had the O2 dongle for a while now and it's absolutely laughable! On the user interface it generally indicates that the O2 signal is "excellent". Well, bloody hell, if that's what an excellent signal is I'd hate to see a low one! More often than not it takes three, four, five, six, etc attempts to connect, despite this so-called excellent signal. When it does finally connect it often disconnects - usually right as I'm sending an email or something.
    As for the speed... it's not funny, but it really is a joke. I've seen mentioned on here that the speeds are akin to dial-up from years ago. Well, that's kinda true. I'd nearly bet that my dial-up from when I first had the Internet back in '98 was faster than this piece of s**t. They have a cheek to advertise that for £15 a month you can download whatever amount of videos, songs, etc on than plan. Well, today I spent nearly 15 minutes waiting on a 2-page word document to download from my email (after about half an hour of trying to actually get the email open without the connection timing out). Forget about sending attachments!

    Absolute joke, waste of money, total rip-off, TO BE AVOIDED!!!!!!!!!!

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Christina at 06:33 on 2 Dec 2010

    O2 dongle has got progressively WORSE.....and THEN they have the cheek to reduce the allowance to 2GB, - NO prior warning. Keeps cutting out. VERY DISAPPOINTED......AND ANNOYED !!

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Emily at 09:55 on 26 Nov 2010

    I am a Post graduate student living in Cambridge, CB4 area. I got O2 PAYG mobile broadband because I am an o2 Phone costumer and live in student housing which has no internet facilities. The monthly contract offers on the market wouldn't suit my circumstances -I will be moving out at the end of the academic year.

    Broadband coverage is poor-to-average, with some occurances of no connection at all, which lasted for three consecutive days. The connection has 'crashed' on occassions, without prior warning, and then taking 30-45 minutes in some instances to get re-connected... if i'm lucky -Sometimes it wouldn't re-connect at all.

    I'm dissappointed in the small data allowance (£15PM option), which only lasts me 7 days from when I top up-to-empty. I wouldn't reccommend an O2-dongle for anyone seeking heavy-every-day-usage. I am in the process of writing up a thesis, so my internet usage would mainly consist of surfing serach engines, downloading academic literature/email attachments and music (studying music) which I'm also sure, eats up the data allowance quite quickly.

    Disappointed overall. Poor coverage, unreliable connection, the data allowance is too limited for my own needs and requirements, but may suit someone else who has less dependancy or need for daily online access. Idealy suited to minimal internet users as an 'on-the go' back-up for online access.

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Stuart at 11:12 on 9 Nov 2010

    I'm on O2 PAYG. The speed an reliability has improved from me over the last year. Unfortunately more speed is an enticement to use up your data allowance quicker! and I am disappointed they have reduced the £15 top-up to 2GB recently. I am reluctant to go onto contract because, like on most networks, you get hammered if you go over your monthly allowance. Given the choice I'd opt for lower speed to keep my usage down, but then they wouldn't get so much money off me :-)

    Report abuse

Add a review

Please leave a comment
Please describe your emotions in making this comment:

Powered by reCAPTCHA