Plusnet Broadband logo

Plusnet broadband

Unsure about which package to choose? Call our helpline - 0800 4661 043 or we can call you >

Overview

  • Great range of broadband packages to suit all users
  • Broadband + phone packages are good value; the cost of line rental is from £9.49/mth extra, but you no longer get a bill from BT

Best selling Plusnet broadband deals

Broadband Genie Home Broadband Awards

Broadband Genie Award WinnerBroadband Genie Award Winner

Plusnet came out fighting in our Home Broadband Survey 2014.

Thanks to some great survey results across the board - where 81% of customers would recommend the service - Plusnet was the clear leader in every category and the only choice for the Best Broadband Provider.

But that wasn't all Plusnet won - it also walked away with the Best Budget Broadband gong from the Broadband Genie Home Broadband Survey 2014.

This wasn't just about being cheap. The ISP performed well across most categories, proving it is possible to add value to a quality product.

About Plusnet

Yorkshire-based 'honest broadband' provider Plusnet has a strong range of products and a good reputation both with customers and in the industry itself. Now providing both ADSL and fibre with mega cheap offers up to unlimited deals for gamers, there should be something for everyone.

Starting out as Force9 Internet in 1997, the Plusnet brand we know today was launched as a dial-up ISP in June 2000, adding broadband later the same year. The company was bought up by BT early in 2007 but still operates under its own brand name. To this day relies heavily on referrals from its current customers to help fuel its growth strategy, showing cheap doesn't have to mean low quality.

Plusnet has won awards from the likes of Which? (Recommended Provider, February 2012), PC Advisor and the ISPA, as well as several Broadband Genie accolades, including Best Broadband in 2013 and 2014.

Customer reviews

Show all 439 Plusnet Broadband reviews»

  • neutral

    by Harveyabo at 13:51 on 21 Jul 2014

    I have just cancelled my phone and broadband with PlusNet. Apparently because I am moving to Virgin and do not need a MAC code I will be charged £30 as in the contract. I only cancelled on Saturday yet I am already received veiled threats of Debt Collectors if I haven't paid the £30 by 4th August. I think this is sour grapes!!!!
    how dare you leave us!!! They have blown any chance of my returning to them in the future. The email I received is below.

    Kirsty Anderson - Sales & COT Analyst
    **:**, Saturday 19 Jul 2014
    Dear Mr ************,

    Thanks for your time on the phone today. As discussed, I have scheduled your cancellation for 04/08/2014. I have not taken the cancellation fees therefore they remain outstanding. The fees are as follows:

    Cessation Fee: £30.00

    You can find reference to the cessation fee in the terms and conditions under Plusnet Broadband Family service terms - Ending your agreement:

    19: If you choose to end your agreement for the service and you do not request and use a migration access code (MAC), or do not use another recognised migration process you will be subject to the broadband cease charge as shown in the price guide. You will not have to pay this charge if you are moving home and we are unable to provide the service at the new UK address.

    To avoid this fee being sent to a debt recovery agency, they would need to be paid prior to cancellation.

    Please feel free to contact us on 0800 432 0200.

    Kind regards,

    Kirsty Anderson

    [Internal]
    If fees not taken by 05/08/2014, please send to DR

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by mrleeds at 01:50 on 11 Jul 2014 | registered | 2 posts

    About 4 years ago i posted a crappy review for plusnet when really the speeds i was getting were due to location and not plusnet. My villiage has finally been upgraded to fibre after 10 years on 2Mb. Plusnet have done me proud so far, on time for the instal, clean and proffesional, although 78Mb im only pulling nearly 60Mb wireless. Yet to test hard wired.
    So to be honest Plusnet actually are a damn good ISP. I have never really had a problem with their service and i recommend them to anyone.

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Chris Purvey at 17:17 on 9 Jul 2014 | registered | 2 posts

    @Jack
    Apologies for the delay in replying. Are you getting anywhere near your speed estimate? - http://www.dslchecker.bt.com/adsl/adslchecker.welcome
    If not then I'd suggest raising a fault via http://faults.plus.net so we can take a look into that.

    @Charlotte
    Apologies for the wait time, it's not something we like either and we always try to keep these to a minimum. Did you mange to get your query sorted?

    @luke
    Sorry to see that you're unhappy with this. If you were to take Line Rental Saver(pay 12 months upfront) you would save over £35 per year for this.

    Have you managed to get a resolution to this?

    @Lynton
    That's not a good read at all, sorry you've had the missed appointments. Are you still planning to have our services and if so has a date been arranged for you for this?

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Lynton at 11:01 on 9 Jul 2014 | registered | 7 posts

    You say "OFCOM has looked into the poor service from Openreach, because, let's face it, they're the ones responsible for problems with installations"..... this is not the case with me.... in one instance, PlusNet booked the install with me, I remained at home all day, at 1600hrs they called and said they had forgotten to enter the install on the system.... BT, on the other hand, made the appointment, kept it and installed....

    Report abuse

Add a review

Please leave a comment
Please describe your emotions in making this comment:

Powered by reCAPTCHA