Plusnet Broadband logo

Plusnet broadband

Unsure about which package to choose? Call our helpline - 0800 4661 043 or we can call you >

Overview

  • Great range of broadband packages to suit all users
  • Broadband + phone packages are good value; the cost of line rental is from £9.49/mth extra, but you no longer get a bill from BT

Best selling Plusnet broadband deals

Broadband Genie Home Broadband Awards

Broadband Genie Award WinnerBroadband Genie Award Winner

Plusnet came out fighting in our Home Broadband Survey 2014.

Thanks to some great survey results across the board - where 81% of customers would recommend the service - Plusnet was the clear leader in every category and the only choice for the Best Broadband Provider.

But that wasn't all Plusnet won - it also walked away with the Best Budget Broadband gong from the Broadband Genie Home Broadband Survey 2014.

This wasn't just about being cheap. The ISP performed well across most categories, proving it is possible to add value to a quality product.

About Plusnet

Yorkshire-based 'honest broadband' provider Plusnet has a strong range of products and a good reputation both with customers and in the industry itself. Now providing both ADSL and fibre with mega cheap offers up to unlimited deals for gamers, there should be something for everyone.

Starting out as Force9 Internet in 1997, the Plusnet brand we know today was launched as a dial-up ISP in June 2000, adding broadband later the same year. The company was bought up by BT early in 2007 but still operates under its own brand name. To this day relies heavily on referrals from its current customers to help fuel its growth strategy, showing cheap doesn't have to mean low quality.

Plusnet has won awards from the likes of Which? (Recommended Provider, February 2012), PC Advisor and the ISPA, as well as several Broadband Genie accolades, including Best Broadband in 2013 and 2014.

Customer reviews

Show all 456 Plusnet Broadband reviews»

  • neutral

    by David Penson at 14:02 on 17 Nov 2014

    Can`t even fix a fault with their own equipment
    i have had to take many days off work, and still the fault with thier equpment is not fixed. they continue to take money for a service they are not providing, and as i have lost so much money sitting at home waiting for an engineer to visit if they actually turn up, they claim they have a photograph of my front door to proove they visited, this is contrary to 6 hrs of cctv footage. i may be forced to take them to court, as apparently a payment for a service that they can`t provide is non refundable.

    After the 3rd and final BT visit my connection speed is less than when i started to complain about it dropping out. and plusnet`s responce is its fixed. i think not.

    #92123225

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Jay at 14:31 on 18 Oct 2014 | registered | 1 post

    I have plusnet at my office and has been ok, they used to be really good over the phone at customer service but I have noticed them slip a lot.

    I opted for their fibre service when I moved home, unfortunately could not get virgin fibre optic which I would have back without thinking twice, virgin was installed at my previous house and ok at times there was the odd outage but virgin connection speeds and stability were spot on.

    Having fibre installed from September 2014 has been a complete nightmare from installing, 10 days for the line to become stable is a joke and it has never become fully stable at all, I've had drops outs, rebooting the modem and router at various points to no connection at when I have woke up in the mornings, rebooted modem / router and ok for a time.

    I've had 2 engineer visits from BT Openreach, 1st engineer replaced the flaky cheap looking white fibre modem which BT has had previous problems with, apparently these have been resolved by using another provider for the modems but I am hugely suspicious of them.

    Both the BT engineers have not had any good words to say about the modems and they are BT Openreach engineers using their modems for plusnet, to also add the engineers say plusnet are the only ISP to use the modems from them? says it all.

    The second BT engineer tested everything for 5 minutes and said he can't find a fault, 5 minutes out of 24 hours is not conclusive in my opinion, plusnet have already flagged various drop-outs and stability issues and this is why the 2nd engineer was arranged.

    I have also tried a brand new £90 router for fibre connections and still had connection issues, stability and internet speeds that are all over the place, most homes use wireless devices for streaming and as long as you are in good range and have a decent wireless n router or dual band you should not lose much speed through wireless, also depends on devices and their wireless technology.

    I am not a novice internet user, plusnet and BT Openreach are clearly playing cat and mouse here with customers, I'm now in a position where I'm not getting the intended service with repeated drop-outs or no connection at points unless I reboot the modem supplied.

    Plusnet initially said I could cancel on a support ticket but when I called up I get told there is no problem now and I can't cancel, the last BT engineer has done nothing at my property to change anything or equipment but the problem has now gone away according to plusnet!?

    I am now in the situation to go down the deadlock letter route and require (ADR) Alternative Dispute Resolution, if you have a problem look at the ofcom website.

    I have a broadband and phone connection at my office with plusnet which is out of contract, after the problems and lack of customer service on my residential service I will be cancelling my business services with plusnet ASAP and going elsewhere, let's see if plusnet decide to change the goal posts and tell me I can't cancel as I know 100% I'm out of contract.

    To sum up, plusnet early days were good with my business connection but overtime are not so good and my recent problems with my residential installation shows that they have lost that hunger for good service and wanting to grow their customer base, a good apple gone bad I'm sorry to say!

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by RRees at 19:47 on 14 Oct 2014

    It is mentioned that Plusnet have a set answer. Tend to agree. They act more like some council jobsworth thana private company

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Calvin at 10:25 on 14 Oct 2014

    Do not order with Plusnet - so far we've spent over £40 on phone calls chasing them and taken three days holiday from work to wait at home for installation and we still haven't got things properly installed. I never really bother to post reviews like this, but the service has been so bad with Plusnet - and I'm so infuriated - that I'm posting this. What follows is boringly detailed, but I'm putting it here for the record:

    Ordered fiber broadband on the 23rd August with installation date set for the 16th September. When the engineer came, we were told it was only to install the phone line and someone else would have to come to install the broadband - Plusnet did not explain this when we ordered.

    I had already taken one day off work, and had to take another off on the 23rd September for the second visit. During the first visit, the engineer pointed out that our phone socket was not near a power outlet, but that would be fine as the engineer installing the broadband would be able to run a wire through and install a socket near a power point.

    When the engineers arrived for the second visit, they said Plusnet had not ordered a "full installation" (Plusnet use BT engineers), so they did not have permission to move the phone socket and could only set up the broadband through the existing socket (which doesn't work as both the modem and wireless router need a power socket). Between all of this, we've had to make several calls to Plusnet, which has cost well over £40 (we couldn't use our land line as there is also a fault on that which Plusnet also haven't sorted out yet - and Plusnet don't do call backs, even though they're the ones who have messed up), with all the time waiting to get through to people.

    Plusnet said they would expedite the order to ensure a BT engineer came to do the full installation, but the visit was then not arranged until today (14th October). This time, my girlfriend has had to take the day off (third day of annual leave taken from work just for installation of internet). The BT engineer has just arrived and told her that he doesn't have permission to move the phone socket as Plusnet have not ordered a "full installation" - which was the whole point of this visit happening. This has been a complete waste of our time and money, not to mention all of the holiday days we've had to use up just to stay at home for a job to not be done as promised on three occasions.

    BT have blamed Plusnet and Plusnet have blamed BT. I don't care; we're Plusnet's customers and they should be sorting it out, regardless of where the blame lies. I have no idea what Plusnet plan to do next, but I'll be expecting a refund and more for all the money lost on phone calls and time taken off work on account of their incompetence and the inability of Plusnet and BT to work together - and if it's not sorted out very soon, I'll be cancelling altogether (the only thing stopping that - only just for now - is the pain it will be to have to start the whole process again with someone else).

    Report abuse

Add a review

Please leave a comment
Please describe your emotions in making this comment:

Powered by reCAPTCHA