Plusnet Broadband logo

Plusnet broadband

Unsure about which package to choose? Call our helpline - 0800 4661 043 or we can call you >

Overview

  • Great range of broadband packages to suit all users
  • Broadband + phone packages are good value; line rental is cheaper when paying one year in advance

Best selling Plusnet broadband deals

Broadband Genie Home Broadband Awards

Broadband Genie Award Winner

Plusnet once again did very well across the board in our 2015 Home Broadband Survey.

It was the highest rated provider in four out of five survey categories, making it the clear leader for the Best Broadband Award.

Plusnet was also voted Best Budget Provider by our judging panel, who recognised Plusnet's committment to great value broadband without compromising on important factors like customer service.

Who are Plusnet?

Yorkshire-based 'honest broadband' provider Plusnet has a strong range of products and a good reputation with customers and the industry. Now providing both ADSL and fibre with mega cheap offers up to unlimited deals for gamers, there should be something for everyone.

Starting out as Force9 Internet in 1997, the Plusnet brand we know today was launched as a dial-up ISP in June 2000, adding broadband later the same year. The company was bought up by BT early in 2007 but still operates under its own brand name. To this day it relies heavily on referrals from its current customers to help fuel its growth strategy, showing cheap doesn't have to mean low quality.

Plusnet has won awards from the likes of Which? (Recommended Provider, February 2012), PC Advisor and the ISPA, as well as several Broadband Genie accolades, including Best Broadband in 2013, 2014 and 2015.

Customer reviews

Show all 483 Plusnet Broadband reviews»

  • unhappy

    by davido at 15:06 on 13 Jul 2015

    I am leaving this comment here but would like it to be moved to a more prominent place so everyone can read it.

    I SUCESSFULLY SUED PLUSNET/BT IN MY LOCAL COUNTY COURT !

    In February 2014 I contacted PLUSNET to install a phone line & supply a modem & broadband at the new house I was moving to, I paid them £72.98, I received confirmation of my order (a contract ?)in the post the following day & 2 appointments were booked for a month later for the work to be done. I moved to my new house & waited, I took 11 hours off work unpaid to be at home for the BT Openreach engineers, but no one turned up, I tried to contact PLUSNET on my mobile several times only to be told I was in a queue & had to wait over 40 minutes, I also tried to contact them by using the local call box - again I was in a queue & would have to wait over 50 minutes. I wrote to PLUSNET to complain & demanded my £72.98 back plus my lost salary circa £400 including compensation for breach of contract & explicitly gave them 14 days to comply or I would take them to the small claims court, their response was to offer me a miserly £25 for my inconvenience & my money back if I formally asked for it, "HOW OUTRAGOUS!" So of course I made a claim through MYCOL the online small claims service, I offered mediation & waited for their response, NOTHING for approximately 12 months ! so a hearing date was set & surprise surprise I start to get phone calls & an offer in writing of £150 to settle this time from BT LEGAL. I now know that PLUSNET in their incompetence failed to book the 2 appointments with their parent company BT OPENREACH thus wasting my time & causing my financial loss. The case was heard on 03/07/2015, PLUSNET/BT didn't even bother to attend simply sending a letter, I had a very thorough, & severe but legally professional examination of my claim & my evidence by the justice (I'm not going to mention his name) my award was just shy of £300 & they have until the 25th of July to pay. I shall keep you informed. I would urge anyone who has issues with utility companies be it water/gas/electricity or telecoms to do as I did & use the small claims court – that is what it is there for ! At the time of writing this BT have 5 CCJ’s against them dating back to 2011 (& now 6 with mine) this company & its subsidiaries simply don’t care if they break civil law – it’s time we ALL complain & use the courts to get justice.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by david at 11:20 on 5 Jul 2015 | registered | 35 posts

    In October 2014, I suddenly found one morning that there was no connection. Neither telephone or broadband. I was forced to walk into town to find what was going on. it turned out that they had deliberatly, and out of the blue stopped my service. No warning. I tried to find out over the pay-phone why. They said it was my fault, that I had instructed them to do this. I wanted to see where I had written this. They then pulled the DPA-FOI Act delaying tactic, of you have to pay us 10 pounds for the information and also wait for 60 days. Despite apparently according to them it was something I had written, therefore my information. "But, but, but, if you dont pass the DPA we wont know who we are talking with - MR Jones!!!!!" Idiots.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by DarronS at 13:48 on 16 Jun 2015

    started off fine but after about 6 months the speed started to slow down in fact I tend to remember the dialup was faster, at this moment in time I am having to teather to my mobile to be able to view my e-mails suffice to say I am changing providers in a few days

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Redlegoman at 18:02 on 17 May 2015

    Very slow speeds with plusnet, was getting 3 times the speed with sky. Service is terrible, they are interested in fixing anything or even being apologetic about not providing he speed stated when i joined.

    Report abuse

Add a review

Please leave a comment
Please describe your emotions in making this comment:

Powered by reCAPTCHA