What to do before you cancel Cuckoo Broadband
Typically, the first thing to do before cancelling a broadband service is to check the status of the contract to see whether you’re going to be charged for leaving.
But Cuckoo is unusual because it only offers no-contract broadband deals that you can cancel at any time for free.
This means there’s only one thing you need to do before ending the Cuckoo broadband service: check what other deals are available and choose a new package.
Find a new broadband deal
If you’re cancelling broadband because it is no longer needed, then this step isn’t applicable, and you can skip to the next section.
For everyone else, it’s essential to get a new broadband deal lined up before you cancel Cuckoo, or you could be left without a connection for weeks.
Start by entering your postcode to see what deals are on offer in the area:
Broadband Genie postcode checkerWhy do we need your postcode?
Why do we need your postcode?
Most providers use the same Openreach (BT line) network as Cuckoo. When moving between them, the new provider will notify Cuckoo that you’re leaving and handle the transfer. The only disruption to your connection will be a brief outage on the day the new provider takes over.
If you move to another network (like Virgin Media, for example), you’ll need to arrange a suitable installation date and contact Cuckoo yourself.
Ready to buy? Here are just a few of the best deals available right now:
How to cancel Cuckcoo Broadband
How you go about cancelling Cuckoo depends on your plans for broadband after leaving, with slightly different steps depending on whether you still need broadband, or plan just to cancel it entirely.
Cancelling and switching to another Openreach provider
If you’re moving to a broadband provider that uses the Openreach (BT phone line) network - such as TalkTalk, Plusnet, EE, Vodafone, or BT itself - you only need to choose a new deal and let the new provider notify Cuckoo of your cancellation. The new ISP (Internet Service Provider) will take over the line on the installation date.
Cancelling and switching to another broadband network
If you are moving to a different network, such as Virgin Media or a full fibre provider like Hyperoptic, you will need to contact Cuckoo to request cancellation.
First, sign up for your new broadband deal. Then once you have a confirmed installation date, contact Cuckoo and ask to cancel.
The easiest way to get in touch is to use the live chat on their site. If you need to speak to someone, call them on 0203 389 7211.
If you are cancelling broadband entirely and not switching, you only need to contact Cuckoo to end the service. Either use the live chat or call them on 0203 389 7211.
Frequently Asked Questions about cancelling Cuckoo
Do I need to return my Cuckoo Wi-Fi router?
You will be asked to return the Cuckoo Wi-Fi router; a pre-paid envelope will be provided. They do charge a fee if it’s not returned, so don’t forget to do this!
Can I keep my phone number?
Yes, your phone number can be transferred. Make sure to arrange this with your new ISP when signing up.