« back to XLN Telecom Ltd

XLN Telecom Ltd Reviews

Sign up now. Call: 0808 2501745
  • unhappy

    by Stephen Davey at 10:42 on 18 Oct 2016 Report abuse

    Absolutely appalling service.

    Their sales blurb and price promise states ...... We're on a mission to help STOP small businesses paying too much. We understand that if you're busy running your own small business the last thing you need to do is worry about BIG bills. So we're here to put a STOP to that.

    Absolute lies as far as we are concerned. They've just dumped a load of OpenReach bills on us after promising to 'Stand by small businesses against the corporate giants' etc

    No communication between them and BT (who do all the line work for them), no help, just pay the bill for the 2 year contract you're stuck in and goodbye!

    Can't wait to leave!

  • unhappy

    by Nick at 18:23 on 28 Sep 2016 Report abuse

    Avoid XLN

    Agreed to three year so called fix term contract with XLN , however since than the price has been increased by almost 100% and I have been told that it is done within terms and condition and if I want to leave I have to pay penalty charges.
    My advise to any new customer is never ever agree to any fix term contract regardless of what their customer adviser says or promise you

  • unhappy

    by Charles Trevelyan at 17:46 on 15 Aug 2016 Report abuse

    Yet more negativity about xlm I'm afraid. Avoid at all costs!

    Almost eight weeks in after being promised a connection in 10 days and I still have neither an internet connection nor an estimated connection date. Delay after delay after delay (nine and counting), and endless broken promises, including that of the CEO of the company to respond personally to any serious issues, although to be fair I never believed that would actually happen. Broken promises from the head of the company all the way down through the structure.

    And it seems I can't even cancel even though they have completely failed to provide the basic internet connection I was looking for, as not one person I've spoken to was able to tell me what their cancellation policy was. In fact one Customer service operative helpfully told me that they did not have a cancellation policy at all!

  • unhappy

    by Alan Damper at 15:25 on 27 Jul 2016 Report abuse

    Reply to Jason posted 16th October. You are talking rubbish. BT Openreach delivers the service to your premises.

    I was with XLN for years with three lines. When it works, fine, but when there is a problem it's a nightmare. I had a line fault in the road outside but to find it took weeks because I refused to sign their required paper that I covered them for any costs charged to them by BT if the fault was inside my premises. I was paying XLN an insurance fee to cover that eventuality but they kept ignoring it.

    I asked to exit from the agreement - my minimum period had expired long ago - but I was charged 300 pounds per line. Total 900 pounds for exit.

    I stood my ground and said I would take it to County Court. They backed down and I paid zero. I am now back with BT.

    You have been lucky so far in my opinion. Come back here when it all goes wrong!!

  • unhappy

    by Mike stevens at 10:19 on 27 Jul 2016 Report abuse

    XLN Telcom is terrible they over charge you and the internet service is a joke it is very slow and you never get it working for a whole week, sorry I never checked them out.
    Will say to anybody wanting to join them " take an aspirin and sit in a dark room for an hour" this will be what you will be doing after trying to get service from XLN Telcom.

  • unhappy

    by H Chadwick at 10:11 on 27 Jul 2016 Report abuse

    XLN Telcom "Helping business save everyday" has been nightmare for my salon the internet has been off and on since march 2016 till now July 2016 and we have given them lots of chances to fix the problem still rubbish, we have lost clients and sales because of no internet, card machine wont work, and no banking, so we told them we are leaving and now they send me a bill for £300 what a joke what a company.

    I have wrote to Christian Nellemann the comic who runs this outfit.

  • unhappy

    by Doug Innes at 13:21 on 14 Jul 2016 Report abuse

    We gave this company notice we were leaving, however they continued to pillage our account via direct debit for several months. They have refused to refund the money despite recognising we cancelled and stopped using their service. I believe they have a corporate policy of dishonesty

  • unhappy

    by MartinB at 10:16 on 1 Jun 2016 Report abuse

    I wish I had read some of these reviews before I signed with them. I think the service is far from cheap; a 2 year deal they could do much better.

    For a slow ADSL and a phone line I don't use much an average of £45 per month is a rip-off

  • neutral

    by John at 0:44 on 16 May 2016 Report abuse

    My mother has a small business, had a connection through XLN for many years, recently they've gone downhill, at which point my mother phones up for support, things got a little strange. Turns out that she actually has no contract, she gets service, and pays the bills, but can't get support. She had water damage to two modems, cost her 50 quid a time. So she buys a new one, (TP-Link) so XLN tell her to call a number in Taiwan for technical support, which of course cost her a lot of money...
    Sounds like a really nice bunch of folks.

  • happy

    by Jason at 13:14 on 16 Apr 2016 Report abuse

    Wow. A lot of incompetence and toys being thrown out of the crib about XLN! I moved
    telephone and internet service to XLN from BT Business after some 11 years recently,
    and it's been a great experience all around. They made changes to my service while i
    was on the phone with their technical folk, active immediately; BT? I asked for another
    service relating to broadband.. hold on a minute.. completed over the phone, same call.
    I have a router, I have a good master socket that was re-wired by myself from the pole
    lead-in, I have ONE device hooked to my phone line (phone system) and manage my
    wiring just fine. For me? XLN provide the service, I take care of my end, simple as
    that. When I signed up? I read the contract! I'll bet all you lazy ranters all expect your
    MP to read every bill before it's ratified or objected to; Why don't you take the time to
    understand your contract and quickly exit, or carry on, then skill up a bit! WOW the
    ignorance and laziness that passes for someone elses problem is incredible!

    Technically? XLN's business network is nothing to do with BT's. It's indeed provided
    by TalkTalk's business network, and it is extremely fast and reliable. BT's network is
    clogged with their TV service, their FON garbage, and their priorities are their board
    and shareholders, and their hubris.

    Read your contract before you get into a *business* exchange, and understand that
    if every twit switched every time they poured tea in their router, or forgot they had that
    old knackered cordless phone still plugged straight into their ADSL line, causing
    interference that kills ADSL, there would be no such thing as reasonably priced
    broadband, as suppliers would be leeping up with every moron who can't tie their
    shoes! I just read my entire paper contract, and it's as straightforward as any out

    XLN deliver good value for money to small business. End of. If you're a moron, and
    just want cake and free vouchers for Boots and M&S and amazon (yuck), go on!
    jump on that stuff.. but don't expect professional telecommunications; Expect the consumer junk you prefer.

    XLN: Great, simple, efficient, fast, no crap, and not for for consumer-mindset.

  • unhappy

    by Tom Poole at 11:42 on 15 Feb 2016 Report abuse

    XLN contracts are one sided and in their own favour. Recently to get my company to upgrade to broadband they proposed an 8 year contract! I wanted an ISP not a wife!

    Their broadband service for the past few years has been slow and unreliable.


    Pay the extra few quid and go with a reputable company, with morals.

  • unhappy

    by harry at 17:14 on 17 Dec 2015 Report abuse

    I have been with XLN for 3 years, and recently had an engineers visit to repair a broadband fault, I was charged £198 due to the problem being with a socket upstairs in the premises which I didn't even know about, I had their business assurance where I paid £1.95 per month to protect me against such charges, the letter they sent me when they brought out the business assurance said "you will never have to pay BT Openreach charges" when I complained about the charge they told me that it only covers the phone line and not broadband, I was curious because depending on who I spoke to I was told different things, I have now got a clear picture from their terms and conditions as follows.
    12: j. save where the fault is with your Phone Services and you have taken our Business Assurance service, if we send an engineer to your Premises, we may charge you our then current Charges for the visit, or pass on to you the fees of any third party providers

    17: 3: c. We will not be responsible for any faults arising from Customer Equipment. We may charge you a call out Charge at our then current rates which can be found on our Website , if we send an engineer to your Premises and it transpires that the fault or failure is on your Customer Equipment and not in our Services, or is caused by accidental damage (or where an engineer attends and finds no fault).
    so what this means is that engineers visits for broadband faults where the fault lies within the premises are charged for ( even if its up to the master socket) and the business assurance only covers phone faults up to the master socket.
    I was under the impression that the provider was responsible for all faults up to and including the master socket but XLN seem to be trying to pass as many charges as possible onto the customer, I would cancel but I would have to pay £199 charge for the phone line and another £199 for the broadband in cancellation fees, what a rip off.

  • unhappy

    by Paul Freestone at 16:44 on 16 Jul 2015 Report abuse

    DON'T USE THIS CRAP COMPANY!. I was conned into taking a contract with totally false promises. Instead of being cheaper, it was costing over £10 more every month. Absolutely no response from their so-called customer service. When I tried to leave they attempted to charge a £300 "penalty fee". A total bunch of scumbags.

  • unhappy

    by rachael at 16:56 on 25 Jun 2015 Report abuse

    Shocking customer service, unable to sort broadband issues after months of trying well me trying!! and trying to charge an early exit fee for the terrible service. Customer service do not return calls or reply to emails.
    Wish I never heard of them ! Beware do not use go elsewhere.....

  • unhappy

    by Keith Massey at 17:07 on 29 May 2015 Report abuse

    Have joined XLN Telecom not happy with there approach or service. Got cold called and was told they could supply my phone and internet for £29.99 good deal only i have never paid that always been more they add something every bill and after 3 months it went up ?? DO NOT USE THEM too much hassle

  • unhappy

    by Jeremy Birchall at 19:52 on 21 Apr 2015 Report abuse

    The company resells TalkTalk Broadband and phone lines. TalkTalk resells BT Broadband and phone lines. If you choose XLN you are asking for trouble. Cheap is not good when you need critical communication services to work for a business. My advice choose BT or their subsidiary PlusNet.

  • unhappy

    by Robert at 9:43 on 27 Mar 2015 Report abuse

    XLN "Slammed" my phone line and are trying to charge me for doing so. Lost my contract with my previous supplier,and could only rejoin my original company after two weeks. Avoid XLN at all costs. Watch out for their 'cold calls' trying to get you interested in them

  • neutral

    by Hewkin at 12:08 on 27 Feb 2015 Report abuse

    As a Business , an internet connection is very important to us . We placed an order with XLN on the 14th January .2015
    As of today 27th February 2015, we are still without an internet connection .. Although XLN can not supply this service to us , They threaten large cancellation fees ..
    Needless to say , we have cancelled with them and have no intention of us paying any cancellation charges .
    See you in Court XLN

  • unhappy

    by Tim Line at 18:48 on 10 Feb 2015 Report abuse

    I previously used XLN a few years ago and back then they were great. However, in the last couple of years things have gone seriously wrong and I would avoid them at all costs.

    Their customer service has gone down the toilet, they do not respond to emails or requests for a call back.

    Some of their practices border on the fraudulent.

    Since I signed up with them on this occasion back in June they have randomly added various charges to my account without any authorisation from me. I didn't notice this until one particular bill seemed higher that what I thought I had agreed to. I went back over my invoices and found that they were charging me for call divert, which they had said they would give me, random charges for things like call barring, which I had not ordered. The call barring charge did not appear on all invoices, one month it was there, then next it wasn't. Then beware of their rip off insurance against telephone faults that happen on your premises.

    For the first few months they don't charge you for this (but its in the smallprint. This is something you can opt out of, but is a pretty standard con trick - surely you should have to opt in??

    Once I noticed these charges, they refunded me all the errors -(incidentally without giving me any kind of explantion) but refused to refund the assurance charges.

    Luckily for me, I was about to move business premises, so I was able to get out of the contract penalty free. As soon as I did, I was then inundated with texts, emails etc threatening me with their £299 charge for breaking the contract. Funnily enough these messages also indicate their incompetance, because they arrived AFTER I had left and my number had been transferred. Rather like trying to close the gate after the horse has bolted!

    I replied to these texts and emails which all went unanswered as usual.

    Frankly, I am gald to be free of them and certainly will not be giving them the opportunity to rip me off again.

    I also notice that I am now also unable to view previous bills, so will now have to get them to send me hard copies of everything. If they refuse, I will be back to let you all know.

    Beware!!! is all I say, read everything, opt out of their ridiculous business assurance which is just a cheap con trick to extract another £1.99 a month from you. If you want customer service - forget it and use someone else.

    Since writing this - I found a website called glassdoor, where employees can leave reviews about their employers.

    The reviews there back up everything I have just said above. Many report the use of 'stealth charges and say they have constant complaints to deal with from the victims of their sales team. Check them out for yourself here:


  • neutral

    by Zena Hendrick at 13:33 on 29 Jan 2015 Report abuse

    DO NOT SIGN UP WITH XLN. They are THE worst company I have ever had to deal with. Ignore any positive reviews you read about them and DO NOT start a contract with them. Have been without intener for 2.5 months, charged for missed appointments that we never knew about. It would've been cheaper to pay to leave them than pay all the extra charges they have charged us. AVOID AVOID AVOID

  • neutral

    by Maureen at 22:39 on 4 Oct 2014 Report abuse

    My poor depressed husband signed up to a £73.99 a month 'deal' with them and he only makes about 5 calls to ANYONE in a month! I'm thoroughly disgusted with them and how they took advantage of a person with emotional problems!!!

  • neutral

    by Gavin at 18:26 on 1 Oct 2014 Report abuse

    Avoid avoid avoid avoid. Shocking in every aspect

  • neutral

    by Alex at 11:54 on 18 Jun 2014 Report abuse

    XLN are aweful. They even have a facebook site called i hate xln. They've upset a lot of customers and although they have been in trouble many times for their practices, they dont seem to care.

  • unhappy

    by Amol Karnik at 16:37 on 12 Jun 2014 Report abuse

    Absolutely appalling, arrogant, unresponsive and incompetent. Couldn't arrange a simple telephone line transfer, make a complete mess of the perfectly working systems and refused to put it right. Avoid like the plague

  • happy

    by vass at 20:22 on 14 Mar 2014 Report abuse

    XLN....never again

  • neutral

    by steve at 20:18 on 14 Mar 2014 Report abuse

    XLN...been in business for 30 years & its the first time i,ve been treated like this...XLN do not return your calls, do not address customer complaints & it is the most unprofessional company i ever had the misfortune to work with....yes they are cheap but first sign of a problem & you are on your own. XLN? NO thanks

  • unhappy

    by M Singh at 10:03 on 3 Feb 2014 Report abuse

    Absolutely shocking company. Worst broadband ever. I asked for a new router as i have been with XLN so long and they tried to charge me £48. Then i said i was leaving they tried to charge me £398 for leaving. So i either pay the 48 or risk the cancellation fee. Well i will take my chances. Thieves. Also why does your account managers try to sell me something when i report a fault with my internet. I DO NOT WANT TO BUY ANYTHING FROM YOU!!!

  • happy

    by Vicky at 12:59 on 1 Nov 2013 Report abuse

    I had xln years ago and found it to be amazing, no problems, so much better than expected after reading the reviews! im considering using them again but I am in a different part of the country now and I am concerned by all of these bad reviews so I just wanted to share my excellent experience with them to re address the balance . im not yet sure if to use them again as yet .....

  • neutral

    by Jack at 12:18 on 18 Oct 2013 Report abuse

    Hi All,

    XLN is bad news. They got rid of their customer service team last year and replaced them with account management teams. These were so called experts who would deal with any problem that came in so that you wouldnt have to be transferred to another department. All of these "experts" were fresh from the streets and had no previous knowledge of the company or any of its products or processes.

    XLN is not owned by Talk Talk as someone below has stated. They use both BT and Talk Talk lines as all other telecoms provider does.

    This company does in fact offer a lot of cheap tariffs. However, once you start using them that's where the problems begin. Their NGN (Next Generation Network) broadband and line is on the Talk Talk network. Unfortunately, Talk Talk is not available everywhere. If you are not in a Talk Talk enabled area you will be put on the bog standard ADSL product provided by BT. This product costs XLN more money and charge the customer the £3 extra for that despite the product being crap. It would be much better if XLN cared about the customer experience rather than their pocket. The only reason the broadband is slow is because they ask their BT ADSL provider to limit the bandwidth of bandwidth hungry protocols, such as YouTube, BBS iPlayer and any other streaming sites and apps. Why anybody would need broadband speeds of up to 20MB just to browse web pages is beyond me. XLN doesn't seem to have grasped this point. Don't offer fast speeds and unlimited usage if you're not able to use the internet to its full. They even restrict their fibre optic broadband which makes no sense.

    All in all, I think you guys should only use XLN if you don't intend to use your phone or broadband much.

    They do charge cancellation fee and they do charge other "hidden fees" but so does every provider out there. The only difference is that XLN doesn't make it obvious. Go to their website, read their terms and conditions. If you do decide to give them a go and are offered a cooling off period this is only for the phone line. Once your broadband is connected, that's it! you are in a contract.

    My advice (as a previous XLN customer and employee) is don't sign up to XLN. They treat their staff just as bad as their customers.

  • neutral

    by mercedes1954 at 11:19 on 26 Jul 2013 Report abuse

    XLN have to order fixes from BT Openreach as do most other providers using that network. They won't commit to doing it unless they're sure it's not the customer's fault and want a payment undertaking before calling engineers out. I refused to give the undertaking since XLN had sold me insurance to cover such costs. Despite this they still wanted me to state I would pay if the fault was in my building. Left them in December last year and glad I did. They still tried to get over £1,100 from me to cancel 3 lines. I refused.

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: